Frank Kassela Will Very Likely Win 2010 WSOP Player of the Year Title

Published on 2010-07-10 07:43:00

-- 2010 World Series of Poker Bracelet - WSOP --Thanks to his two bracelets, three final table appearances and five cashes at the 2010 World Series of Poker, Frank Kassela is a near-lock to win the 2010 World Series of Poker POY (Player of the Year) title.

There are only four players that can mathematically beat Kassela at this point. They are:

James Dempsey
Michael Mizrachi
Dan Heimiller
Vladimir Shchemelev broke down all of the scenarios in which any of these four players could catch Kassela.

The player with the best chance of catching Kassela at this point is Vladimir Shchemelev. Shchemelev would need to win the World Series of Poker main event AND have Kassela finish 10th or lower to pull out the POY title.

The remaining three players (Mizrachi, Heimiller and Dempsey) have an even worse chance of winning the POY title, which just goes to show just how much of a lock Kassela is to win at this point.

Here are Kassela’s incredibly impressive results from the 2010 World Series of Poker (so far):

1st - $2,500 Seven Card Razz, $214,085
1st - $10k Seven Card Stud Hi-Low 8/b World Championship, $447,446
3rd - $25k NLHE/6-Handed, $556,053
10th - $1,500 Limit Hold’em, $11,027
36th - $2,500 Mixed Event, $5,376

Kassela is also still alive in the main event, having finished Day 1d with 87,000 in chips.


Previous winners of the World Series of Poker POY title include:

Daniel Negreanu, 2004
Allen Cunningham, 2005
Jeff Madsen, 2006
Tom Schneider, 2007
Erick Lindgren, 2008
Jeffrey Lisandro, 2009

Source: - Frank Kassela Close to 2010 WSOP Player of the Year Title


Filed Under: World Series of Poker

Related Articles