Published on 2008-01-12 05:26:14

crown poker event - aussie millions - event logoThe most popular event for railbirds at the 2008 Aussie Millions will undoubtedly be the $100k No Limit Hold'em event. This event, which was won last year by Erick Lindgren, is absolutely stacked with talent. Last year 18 players took part in this event; this year, there are 25 participants battling for the 1.25 million dollar (AUD) first prize. Second pays $650k, third pays $350k, fourth pays $150k and fifth pays $100k.

This event and the $50k H.O.R.S.E. event at the World Series of Poker are probably the strongest field of any other tournament from top to bottom. Here are some of the participants in this year's field:

Phil Ivey (arguably the best poker player in the world, certainly one of the most successful)

Erick Lindgren (won the event last year)

Jeff "Actionjeff" Garza

Tom "Durrrr" Dwan

Gus Hansen

Tony G

Nikolaus "Kaibuxxe" Jedlicka

Erik Seidel (most WSOP bracelets of anyone at the table)

Chris "Jesus" Ferguson

Howard Lederer

Andy Bloch

John Juanda

Jeff Lisandro

Allen Cunningham

Now that is a STACKED line-up. Whoever wins this tournament will certainly deserve it.

Action got underway a couple of hours ago and there are currently 17 players left in the tournament. Tom "Durrrr" Dwan and Jeff "Actionjeff" Garza are amongst the current chipleaders. At last check, Phil Ivey had the chip lead and Erick Lindgren was right behind him.

So far, the most notable names to be eliminated are: Gus Hansen, Tony G, Allen Cunningham and Eli Elezra.


Filed Under: Live Tournament Results

Related Articles